Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Scarp and more

This is the first back blip from the holiday - there was limited wifi at my B&B in Timsgarry.

Today we started with an early morning shoot before the workshop came to an end. Most people flew back to Glasgow with a small number staying on a little longer.

I drove to Huisinish on Harris before heading north to Lewis.  From Huisinish you can look over the strait to the island of Scarp. My friends David and Lesley live here from Easter until September each year, enjoying the solitude (and the visitors).

This photo is for them but it was hard to choose what to show you today.

I met a couple to whom I had talked to a few days ago. She was photographing flowers and showed me how she lies flat and shoots the flowers against the blue sky. After they moved off I tried the technique and then spotted her spectacles on the grass. Stick with me, there is a point to the story!  It took a bit of time to catch up with her and return the lost specs.

By the time I had retraced my steps she was shouting for me to come back. 5 shepherds were bringing sheep down the hillside and creating patterns of sheep against rocks.

I was able to photograph them and then to see them when the sheep were moved into a field to be sorted. The shepherds know David and Lesley so they were photographed to show them. The men speak Gaelic as their first language. They were helped by a walker who had attended the gather on Scarp the previous weekend and said they wanted to give him a "tourist of the year" award!

Eventually I moved on to the Isle of Lewis (same land mass) and the wonderful Baile na Cille.  It is just my sort of place. More to come and I'm sure I'll have a good time on Lewis.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.