Water Lily

With the excitement of the arrival of the amazing sunflower blooms at the Arboretum, you might be tempted to think that I've abandoned the lily pond. But that is not the case. Every time I visit, I make my pilgrimage to the lily pond to check out what is in bloom.

I have not seen any dragonflies on the lily pond in a while. I did spot a big one winging its way over the sunflowers, though. It made me wonder if they eat the bees who adore the sunflowers just as much or more than I do.

While the early afternoon sky had featured puffy white clouds, by late afternoon, the clouds had thickened and darkened. The last of the good light was filtering its way through onto the lily pond, and I found I could frame one of the last of the water lilies in a halo of light, with its wild reflection underneath.

The song to accompany this photo of one of the water lilies holding on tight to a dream of summer is ELO, with Hold on Tight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.