A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

2000!

Today is my 2000th blip with no gaps! What better place to go to celebrate but to the Yorkshire Sculpture Park at Bretton Hall to see the poppies!

We were told that there were approximately 5000 poppies in this display of 'The Wave' originally seen at The Tower of London in 2014 to commemorate the war dead of the 1914-1918 great war. You can see it in my blip of the Ist November last year here: https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/4925088
The Wave and the Weeping Window ( currently in Northumberland) are being displayed around the country; most of the individual poppies were sold for charity - I got one for Christmas from Grace and John - and the impact of the sheer numbers at the Tower last year was amazing as well as the crowds queueing to see them. Still it was nice to see them again in a different setting. This is a bit of it as it tumbles over the bridge and down to the water of Bretton Lake.

The country park here is superb, so near to cities and motorways but feeling very much like the country with sculptures from Henry Moore and Barbara Hepworth, famous Yorkshire artists amongst many more.

What can I say about 2000 blips. It's taken over my life but I love it and I love all you people I have met in reality and virtually through this amazing medium. Thanks for following me and supporting me with comments, stars and hearts and thank goodness it is still going and we can continue to keep in touch!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.