Solitary Breakfast

Basil was  up twice in the night (curses!) but I still had to walk him down to the village for his grooming session with Kate at 9 am.

I wanted to go to the library to view the camera club's exhibition. The library opened only at 10 am so I treated myself to a sumptuous full English breakfast (minus toast, sausage and hash browns) at Meet n' Eat opposite.

This well dressed elderly gentleman was having a bacon sandwich, and I couldn't help but sneak a snap. You can tell the time from his watch.

After I'd finished, there was time to peruse the Shepshed Echo which had news of Charnwood Borough Council's planning committee having approved the building of 3,200 homes on the Garendon Estate. How these people will get to and from their houses remains a mystery. There is, as yet, no road network. So perhaps 'development' may move at a slower pace than anticipated.

We are also to host a gypsy, traveller, and travelling showmen site presumably for the benefit of Loughborough Fair. Loughborough complains about the showmen being parked all over its streets and laybys. It's going to be even more interesting trying to navigate narrow roads into Shepshed.

I did discover that a photo of the Britain in Bloom cottage on Epinal Way, that I had submitted on 12th August, was finally printed in this week's edition. The sub-editor must have a backlog of readers' photos.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.