Weekend Wildlife

I walked to the Amwell nature reserve viewpoint and positioned myself to capture anything of interest. I was hoping for birds in flight. As I was scanning the lake and skies I could hear a woman giggling repeatedly and the occasional voice of a man. It was really getting on my nerves. Nothing much to photograph but I did get a Spitfire as it passed over. That's two days in a row. I also saw and photographed a snipe in the distance.

As I turned to proceed I saw a tiny blonde girl of about sixteen cuddling a boy not much older on a bench and felt sorry that the throes of their young love had agged me.

As I walked beside the canal raised voices caught my attention. The sunlight was catching the blonde hair of a young woman on a narrowboat. She was in the process of opening a bottle of bubbly. Her brunette friend was ready with multi-coloured flutes, a couple of blokes were on the shore.

When I opened the door of the White Hide a young couple looked embarrassed, parted and then left. I was quite relieved.

After a while, alone in the vast hide, another couple arrived. I greeted them and left them to it. As it happened they were serious birders but he wouldn't keep still, he kept pacing backwards and forwards and opening lots of flaps. We did spot a kingfisher though.

My pic is of a gorgeous dog on one of the narrowboats seen through weeping willow leaves. It looks to me to be a German Shepherd Husky cross.

The women were still partying when I passed their boat on my return. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.