MONO MONDAY - PAST

Monochrome : this refers to a photograph having one colour - “mono” meaning one and “chrome” meaning colour.  It is frequently used to describe a black and white photograph but it also describes photos that contain a single tone, such as sepia or rose tint.

So in a lunar eclipse, as I understand it, the moon goes into and “past” the earth’s shadow - I am sure there will be those among you who say I’ve got this all wrong - but I wanted to get this into my Mono Monday challenge.  However, feel free to correct me - I'm always willing to learn!

The purists will probably say that this does not qualify for Mono Monday - but having been up since 12.30 a.m. and out in the garden for a fair bit of time, at 3.41 a.m. whilst having some hot chocolate to warm me up, I hope you will be gentle with me - and this, to my eyes anyway, is sepia.

As I looked up at the moon and the stars, I thought how amazing it was  that I, in my now-famous pink robe, was joining with possibly millions of others looking at the same moon and stars. Reminded me of the verses in the Bible that say:

Lord, our Lord,
    how majestic is your name in all the earth!
When I consider your heavens,
    the work of your fingers,
the moon and the stars,
    which you have set in place,
what is mankind that you are mindful of them,
    human beings that you care for them?
You have made them a little lower than the angels
    and crowned them with glory and honour.
Psalm 8 : 1 & 3-4
New International Version

I would add that Mr. HCB was not with me to watch this wonderful Supermoon eclipse - so he will have to wait until 2033 to see the next one!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.