Porch Still Life

Dear Diary,

Coming into the house the low light just caught this grouping on my front porch.  I got my white pumpkin at the family farm last week in Dutchess County.  I do love the traditional orange ones as well but these white ones are my new favorites...especially against the deep red.

It was nothing special, this pumpkin and the fall angel, but the light on them was lovely for a few moments.  These are the kinds of things I would have walked right by before I picked up the camera again in 2005.  Now, they stop me in my tracks.

Dorothea Lange said that a camera is an instrument that teaches people  to see without a camera and I find this very true.  Even when I don't have a camera with me I am constantly framing what I see, zooming in and focusing.  Someday, perhaps, I will dispense with the camera altogether.

While there is perhaps a province in which the photograph can tell us nothing more than what we see with our own eyes, there is another in which it proves to us how little our eyes permit us to see.
Dorothea Lange

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.