Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Super Blood Moon

The Super Blood Moon was forecast to start at 3.11 and last until 4.24am. I went to bed and set my alarm for 2am, and then drove to the top of Machen Common. I found my spot and watched as the moon was partially red and then, spot on at 3.11am it was totally red.

I knew most would be doing a close up pic of it so decided on a foreground and chose this tree to set it off. The event was worth getting up for and I stayed the whole hour, climbing back into bed at 4.45am. I'd got so cold the wife pushed me away when I tried to get warm!

Since 1910, a supermoon lunar eclipse has only happened five times, NASA reported. The last time was in 1982 and you won’t have another chance to see one until 2033. What makes this event special is that it’s occurring while the moon is at its closest point to the Earth, a stage in its orbit called perigee. This is 31,000 miles closer to the Earth than at the farthest point in the moon’s orbit, called an apogee. While this is happening, there will also be a lunar eclipse where the Earth comes between the sun and the moon, causing the Earth’s shadow to cover the moon. This will give the moon a beautiful dark reddish, coppery color.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.