Workride #3 Keighley Road

It was definitely much darker when I set off this morning, and mistier as I climbed up towards work.  No sign of the super/bloodred moon which I briefly glimpsed en route to the bathroom about 3am.  Too tired from the weekend to stay up to see it develop.

So number three in my workride series and this is where the bottom of Anthony Lane meets the main road, Keighley Road.  To the right of the road is a row of mews houses which was built since our arrival in the village, on the site of an old mill which, in recent times, made circlips but previous to this was a mohair weaving mill.  I recall our elderly neighbour Margaret, back in the eighties, telling us how she was apprenticed in the mohair mill as a young girl.  Her mother had to pay for her to be apprenticed as, whilst she was learning, she was taking away the time of a more experienced worker.  Out of sight to the left, behind the hedges, is the old sunday school, now a private residence.  Margaret was always grieved by this change of use because, in order to build  it, the villagers were each asked to fund a brick.

On my journey to work I turn right here and ride down the hill to the roundabout in the centre of the village.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.