Caunes Minervois Bedroom

I'm working on another transformation of an old painting. I am using some of the same techniques I learned in the abstract painting class with my teacher Trish Harding. Today was open studio and we had a full house, ten painters. I was happy to see my former studio mate Ann there. I hadn't seen her for a very long time. 

I painted the original version of this painting in early 2007 after we had traveled to France the previous fall. You can see what it looked like then by taking this link to the France section of my painting website. That was in my pastel color period with lots of pinks and purples. Now I paint with much more dramatic (and I think exciting) colors. 

This is part one of the painting's transformation. I am taking another class in impasto next month and plan to use this painting in that class. I will be using the new impasto techniques I learn to make the bedspread dramatically different. Should be fun.

I am within an inch of being finished with the large painting I've been working on. I decided to be unsubtle and title it "Red Chairs". The extra photo shows the final version of this painting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.