Fat Boys

These male wood ducks are really well fed. Looks like they are stocking up for winter. I love the patterns of colors in male wood ducks. They are something special. I took these photos down at Scudder Pond. 

Arvin and I were taking a walk there. We had walked by and were on our way back when I was taking these. A lady named Sandy was there with her dog and we were chatting as I had all my attention on the ducks. Suddenly I heard her cry out and next thing we both knew Arvin was on his back over the bank of the pond. Luckily he wasn't in the water but he was on a downward slope and it was almost impossible for the two of us to pull him back up by his arms. He seemed so very heavy. And when he was finally up Sandy had an asthma attack. She sat down on the ground and caught her breath. 

I made sure she was okay and that Arvin could stand on his own and then I went to the car to get the new walker we bought for Arvin. He was a bit unstable but he was able to walk to the car and Sandy was able to continue walking her dog. The whole thing was very scary. I think Arvin backed a bit over the edge of the shore of the pond and then lost his balance when he fell. I didn't see it happen at all. Now I realize I need to pay more attention to him and not lose myself in bird photography when the two of us are walking. 

Honestly I am finding that I am losing some of my stamina. I am usually very energetic but right now I'm getting tired. Caring for Arvin is taking its toll. It is nothing that he does on purpose. It has just been quite awhile that I've been caring for him and I am getting weary. He is losing ground. It makes me sad. And I am contemplating a time when he will not be at home anymore and that makes me sad too. Sometimes it is hard to keep my spirits up. And I know that it will be very hard on him not to be staying at home. It isn't quite time yet. Arvin won't start the day program at Silverado until November and I want him to have time to be comfortable there before I consider him staying there 24/7. It makes me sad to contemplate that but today if Sandy hadn't been there I'd have been stuck. I could not have pulled Arvin out of that spot along the pond without help. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.