Unexpected Sunset

OK - that might sound a bit strange to call this an UNEXPECTED sunset!  After all, a sunset is something that happens every night, yes?  BUT....this is a sunset I don't usually get to see - from the car park at Heathrow.

I was supposed to go to DC today. When we got to briefing at 230 we were told that there was a maintenance problem and they were trying to source the spare part, obviously a fairly obscure one as they eventually found one in Paris. It had to be flown in, clear customs both in Paris and London, and then it was going to take over 2 hrs to do the repair. We knew it was highly unlikely to be repaired in time. Both we and the pilots would eventually run out of duty hours and this was going to be no quick fix. In the meantime, they were trying to get as many passengers as they could reassigned to other flights.

After about 3 hours they finally decided to cancel the flight. We were free to go home. So I unexpectedly ended up back at my car just in time to see a beautiful sunset.  I'm almost never at the car park this time of day.  If you look very very carefully, you can see a string of lights on the horizon - the 'queue' of aircraft lining up for landing.

I picked up Dolly on the way home. She's always thrilled to see me, but this evening she went absolutely nuts, jumping around, running in circles and crying.  There were lots of kisses of course!  She was totally shocked to see me back after just a few hours!!  I felt very loved!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.