NDP Consultation launch event at Sub Rooms

I woke very early which gave me plenty of time to bathe and make coffee before our rendezvous at 9am.  I had to deliver all the materials for the launch of the public Consultation about the Neighbourhood Development Plan we were holding at Stroud's Subscription Rooms.

We have prepared the 100 page Plan document and now we need the public to make their comments before it gets submitted in due course for referendum by the parish residents.  We have mounted an exhibition of the core proposals in the Plan which are on display boards.  There are about 40 pages blown up to A3 size mixed with maps and photos.

I have supplied a large majority of the images which illustrate the town and issues raised, so I am very pleased to see them all printed.  We also put up a gallery around the room of other images of mine showing views of the town which you see in the background.  They will form an archive which the town council will hold for the moment and they probably will end up in the Gloucester Records Office eventually.

The day went well with about two hundred visitors between 10am and 2pm.  We had two of the key authors of the Plan speaking to the audience on each hour and I had the task of recording their words on my old DV video camera.  Hopefully we will create a video synopsis of the event as well as a short punchy introduction to the Neighbourhood Plan to go on the local web sites.  I may have to get my editing skills updated as i haven't done any for some years.

I snapped this picture of people perusing some pages of the Plan which we can use on our council website.  It has been really interesting to see and hear which issues concern people the most and now we are waiting for the online comments to pour in in order to create the final version of the Plan.  It is nearly finished and I feel greatly relieved this evening, even thought there is lots more to do.  I have always felt that today would be the biggest hurdle and it is hopefully down hill from here.
 
I was really pleased that Woodpeckers was able to join us today to run a creche at the event, although sadly only a few children appeared.  But it was good to be able to share an important day together.  Thanks Helena :o))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.