Penguin Island

There is no way my words can do justice to the day we have had today.  CCN and I decided to drive to Shoal Bay to visit Penguin Island which is only a very short 5 minute boat trip from the mainland.  The island is now a sanctuary and we knew that we were guaranteed of seeing the Little Penguins.  Nothing could prepare us for the sights we saw on that island.  

From the moment we set foot off the boat we really didn't know which way to look.  I could fill a book with the photos I took today and honestly choosing one for my blip has taken us well over an hour.  In the end I have chosen one of this adorable little penguin steaming towards me, very focussed and blowing bubbles at the same time!!

What we hadn't expected was the phenomena of the Seagulls nesting and the sight of the seagulls with their chicks.  I have NEVER, EVER, EVER see a baby seagull in my life!  And to top that off I took a long shot of a whole army of pelicans (let alone a squadron).  When I put it on my screen tonight I realised that it was a nursery for all of the baby pelicans.  I have NEVER, EVER, EVER seen a baby pelican.  I wish Gitama had been sitting next to me when I saw them on the big screen.  I know how much she loves pelicans, (almost as much as the wombat :-0))).

I have added an extra image of the Seagull and her chick and the baby pelicans.  The one of the pelicans was taken from almost 300 metres so is not the sharpest and I have had to crop the image, but I couldn't post tonight without sharing with you all.

You can no doubt sense my excitement about the day we've had today.  I can only so if you ever have the good fortune to visit Western Australia, this must, must be on your bucket list.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.