La Rentree

Back to school for me today. Thursdays of late have been my self improvement days - cooking, driving and now - for the next thirty weeks - learning to speak French. Zut alors!!!!
First of all there was my obligatory pre holiday trip to Milton Keynes. Things to return, things to pick up, my altered dress to collect, scooters for the Little Misses to buy and Andrews to stock up on.
I called into Tescos on the way back for a huge pastrami sandwich and a cup of tea before heading to the adult learning centre.
Five minutes before the lesson started it was just me and the mad French lady and I felt all my worst nightmares coming true! But thankfully another three people turned up and another is due next week. Phew!
It was funny being in a classroom again doing French. There was no easing in - we were straight into spelling our names out in French, asking and answering questions about each other, chatting about our Summer holidays.
I was suddenly horribly aware of how rubbish my French is and how I probably should have signed up for  Beginners rather than Intermediate. Oops!!!!!
But I enjoyed it, attempted it all with enthusiasm and in the end was surprised by how much came back to me!
I need to order a couple of textbooks and do my homework.
It'll be nice to have something to occupy my brain other than housework, internet and TV.
Ce sera fantastique in fact!!
From there I went to get the Little Misses and, not being able to put it off any longer, started packing for tomorrow!
Mr K and I are off on a cruise to Amsterdam on the Queen Elizabeth and I can't bloody wait!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.