Moving Day

I've been packing things up from our house and taking them to our new house all week. Mostly easy things like the contents of the kitchen and clothes which can be immediately unpacked. I've also dusted and boxed up all the books - hundreds of them!! I thought I'd get rid of some using ruthless criteria: Have I read it? Will I read it? Will I read it again? Is it sci-fi rubbish that Mr K won't notice if I chuck? I got rid of about ten!! And none of the stupid sci-fi!!!
We don't have to be out of the house until next weekend but we earmarked this weekend for actually moving to give us time to sort the old house before handing in the keys.
And we actually want to live in our new house!!!
My mum picked up the Little Misses after swimming and Mr K and I headed to Homebase in Milton Keynes to pick up a van. We finally booked it late last night as he finally found his driving licence!! Nothing like leaving things to the last minute!
It turns out you don't need your licence as the van is just parked in the carpark and you get a code to your phone which you key into a keypad on the van's windscreen. Easy!
Mr K drove the van to the house while I went to John Lewis to pick up a new hoover. Cordless, woohoo!! 
As tempting as it was to hide away in John Lewis all day I couldn't put it off any longer and headed home to start loading the van.
I'll draw a bit of a veil over the hideousness of getting our huge, heavy and awkward sofas out of the house and into the van. 
In the rain. 
I sounded as if I was giving birth at one point. 
I would rather have been giving birth!!!
But we got them to the new house and into position in the living room. Where they will be staying forever as I am NEVER moving them again!
Then it was a couple more runs for more furniture.
We dismantled the Little Misses' beds and just about got them reassembled by bedtime. Their bedrooms look lovely with all their things in - and so tidy!! I was worried they wouldn't settle but after a lot of squealing and bouncing with excitement about the first night in our new house they both went to sleep straight away!
Tired, bruised and aching Mr K and I settled down with a Chinese takeaway and Strictly.
There's still a lot to do but it feels so fab to be sleeping in our own house again after living in someone else's for six years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.