Flower Friday - Rare orchid

Sometimes you crack the trifecta.  Not that I saw three orchids but I was as lucky seeing this one as I could have been if I'd won three races.

It is a Caladenia prolata, or Shy Caladenia; and it has a rating of rare in the region.  I nearly sent it to meet its maker too - I'm not known for my delicacy as a general rule.  But I saw it just in time before my size 9s squashed it.  According to my little orchid book, it frequently grows right next to Xanthorrhoea semiplana (Yacca), and sure enough just across the creek there was the Xanthorrhoea - it's easier to call them grass trees!  Although Xanthorrhoea kind of rolls of the tongue quite nicely.  It's very small, the flower being about 15mm across.

In extras, I've posted a profile shot of it, and also a Sticky Boobialla (myoporum petiolatum).

And to totally make my day, Ollie told me that the local garden shop was closing down 50% off everything.  I had a poke around, and bought a really nice bird bath - it's lovely, and will sit very nicely under the oak tree in the front garden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.