BLIPMEET

Usual trip to Morrisons this morning for the big shop with my friend Jan.

Something different this afternoon - a blipmeet right here in my village.  I met hoodedpigwoman , her Mam, her Dad and her little boy Alexander.  We met up at The Hermitage Garden *** which has a nice tea room in the grounds. We had a lovely time chatting over coffee and cakes.  Well the others had cakes  -  I had a Slimming World bar which I had taken with me. We had a wander round the garden which was looking lovely.  In my extras you can see a beautiful hydrangea, a dahlia and an apple tree.  It was great to meet a fellow blipper.  She lives in Glasgow and was down here visiting her parents.  If it wasn't for blip I would never have met this lovely lady and her family.

Around 5.30pm I had a phone call from  Becky - she walked and talked on her way home from work.  She told me all about her recent holiday in Cyprus - it sounded great. Like always the phone call ended when Becky reached her own front door.

Watching The Apprentice at the moment.  Its a programme I always enjoy.

Steps today - 10,275

*** The Hermitage -  a grand house in Whickham, on the outskirts of Gateshead, was built in 1790 by Matthew Taylor. The Taylors were a wealthy family who owned wherries and keels on the River Tyne. The garden was lavishly laid out, and had some special features, such as a boathouse and bridge, and a two storey brick watchtower. Over the years the house changed hands many times, and the garden was left to run riot and become overgrown.

In 2002 a group of people from the community gained planning permission, and raised funds to restore the garden to its former glory, and Gateshead Council who now owned the property gave them a 10 year tenancy. It took them 'til 2006 to be able to open the garden to anyone who wants to visit, and it is free of charge. The tea room was a later addition.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.