Super Interesting

We had a wonderful walk at Stowe today. After a lovely long lie in for me and an hour's den building and apple smushing in the garden for the Little Misses!
We said hello to Mrs C who's working at Stowe at the moment and then had lunch in the cafe. I had the biggest baked potato I've ever seen - it could have fed ten people!!
Then we walked down to the gardens. Well we walked, the Little Misses scooted like nutters!
Miss E was identifying trees all the way down and was very sweet saying "I love being able to name the trees. It makes me feel sort of proud"
Makes me proud too baby!!
She asked could we collect interesting things to take home and I said we could as long as they were very interesting not just quite interesting.
It made the walk just brilliant - like a huge treasure hunt! 
We found some quite interesting things - bark, huge leaves from a red oak, sweet chestnuts, rosehips and flints.
We saw a few very interesting things - maidenhair ferns, giant swathes of fungus, monkey puzzle trees, a holly tree with yellow berries and a tree with a big hole at the top.
Then Mummy spotted the blue mushrooms and took the prize for the most interesting find of the day. Entoloma bloxamii apparently!!
Home for dinner. I had planned salmon but had failed to notice it was past its use-by date and - after our recent forays into the arena of the unwell  - I decided to play safe and did sausages and mash instead.
Well they had sausages and mash, I had some of my delicious chilli and butternut squash soup.
A bit of singing and dancing and now I'm ready for my bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.