Gitama's World

By Gitama

UP CLOSE AND PERSONAL

There is just something about Pelicans that touches my heart in a rather profound way.......Not only do they provoke sweet personal memories for me I remember reading this when I was young and still living in London and had never seen a Pelican...it went something like this.

The pelican was once perceived as a symbol of love and devotion. During the Middle Ages, the pelican was seen as a symbol of Christ and currently still, carvings can be seen in Christian churches of the "pelican in her piety". During mating season, some pelicans will have a distinguished red spot on their chest which has led to the legend that a mother pelican would rip out her own chest just to feed her young.

My friend (the Purple Fairy) and I went running all over the parks and bridges after this glorious specimen........I had to take lots of photos of him in all sorts of poses.....I believe much to the delight of the locals to see 2 old girls running after Pelicans.

This Pelican was very kind and stopped often.... posed..... flew and swam.
It was a very hard decision to which one I was going to post but how could one go past this super sweet face?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.