The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Ring-tailed lemurs and Suffragettes

During my 1970s childhood, someone gave me and my siblings a wall chart of endangered animals. 3-D pictures could be collected at random from partcipating petrol stations, and stuck in the right place on the chart, or swapped with other collectors. Ring-tailed lemurs featured on this chart, as did Prezwalski's wild horses. I still haven't seen the wild horses....

Today's trip was to the Wild Place, strangely close to the massive shopping city of Cribb's Causeway, near Bristol. I would like to go back and explore another time, with fewer children.

After work my colleague and I went to see the new film, Suffragette. Stirring stuff. violent in places. I had never before thought of the effect that the fight for female suffrage had on individual families. Now I wonder how I could have failed to think of it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.