Strawhouse

By strawhouse

Tealights and Foxgloves in the Rain

Goodness me, rain is loud when you're sleeping in a yurt!!!
I had a bit of trouble getting to sleep last night but it didn't matter - it was lovely lying there looking up through the skylight and listening to the rain and the stream (which sounded more like Niagara Falls!!)
I woke up at 7am this morning and tried to convince myself that I didn't need the loo - it was still tipping it down! After about half an hour I could kid myself no more and had to venture outside. Luckily our yurt is completely secluded as I'm sure I made quite a sight in just my parka and walking boots!
We had a lazy morning as the swim was cancelled. I had actually decided against doing it as I'm still coughing and wheezy and haven't set foot in a swimming pool for at least a month. I'd have needed to be rescued after about 100m and getting dragged into a canoe in a wetsuit is not very dignified!!! But I'll defer to next year and hopefully I'll be fitter and the weather will be brighter.
We lazed around drinking tea and eating bowls of special holiday cereal (Kellogg's multipacks are a must for any holiday!!!) then went for a walk around the beautiful woods where the yurts are.
We had to drive through awful floods to Kendal to get Miss K's headlight fixed and then went to Lakeland for a browse and tried to resist the urge to buy all those fab gadgets that you don't even know you need until you see them!!!! and a yummy lunch.
It was raining so much that after a half-hearted walk round Bowness we bought some more trashy magazines and headed back to the yurt for a very relaxing afternoon and evening of reading, chatting, stoking up the fire and snacking. Bliss!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.