PATISSERIE VALERIE in Newcastle

I went to the Theatre Royal this afternoon to see " The Shawshank Redemption ".  I have seen  the film and liked it and I really enjoyed this stage play.  Great acting, good sets and an appreciative audience.  Ian Kelsey who has appeared in Emmerdale, Casualty and Doctors on TV played convict Andy Dufresne.  He is a Yorkshireman and managed an American accent very well - as did all of the cast. The part of Red  was played by Patrick Robinson - who also previously appeared in Casualty.

After the theatre I mooched around the shops.  I went to Waitrose to complain about a purchase I had made last Sunday.  I had bought a fruit pot - papaya, mango and lime.  However when I opened it there was no lime and the papaya was so unripe and hard I couldn't eat it.  So all I got was 4 slices of mango.  I explained this to the lady at Customer Services and she gave me a refund - as well as another pot of fruit.

On my way back to the bus stop to come home I passed Patisserie Valerie and decided to blip it.  This shop has only been open for about a month.  Pâtisserie Valerie was first opened in 1926 in Frith Street, London by the Belgian Madam Valerie.  Over the years this continental cafe has grown to bring handmade patisserie to all corners of the United Kingdom. The chain has expanded rapidly since 2006 growing from eight shops in 2006 to eighty-nine as of April 2014.  Of course I could only stand and look longingly through the window at the goodies on offer.  None of them are Slimming World friendly. But I bet they are yummy.

Steps today - 8,298

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.