Driving it in

The guys fixing the sewers start at 7am and finish at 6pm. Even if I work longer than usual it's hard to avoid them. They're a good crew and they work really hard.

This is the process of driving in an 8m sheet of steel. Before the driving bit begins the guy standing by the steel uses a level and hand signals to the digger driver, to align the steel. The sheets keep the trench they dig from caving in.

The driving in process isn't pleasant. The ground and house shudder and vibrate. I took my photo and disappeared off for a walk.

They're moving left to right. The steel sheets aren't used wherever there are power or phone lines over head, or broadband cables or storm water pipes underground. The tree roots from the trees on the left slowed things down. The same will happen on the right, and there are roughly 40m of them.

I was shocked when one of the guys told me they like my street, because no one has had a go at them. I couldn't believe it. They're pleasant, efficient, and repairing our quake smashed sewers has to be done.

I was saddened by how they're sometimes treated so I made them scones. They appreciated them and I'll make them some more some time.

I've felt Wilson's absence today. After a few days with Alex staying, and the excitement of Benedict, grief caught up with me today. This too will pass.

Benedict is fostered but it's at someone's place. I can visit but it isn't appropriate to do so every day. I hope I can visit him again on Thursday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.