The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Somerset cider cake

Today I stayed at home and baked. First bread machine brown g-f loaf was a total disaster because I'd muddled up the amount of liquids. Unfortunately Steve came home from a meeting just as I was extracting the sunken mess from the bucket! I was very cross with myself, but managed to make another that wasn't so bad. The problem with experimenting is that I now can't remember which was the good formula and flour mix....

I got into tidying and sorting out the kitchen (long overdue) which was therapeutic but never-ending; then I threw together a g-f apple cider cake I'd been looking forward to making. It didn't disappoint! Here it is, still in the tin.

All in all, a peaceful and happy day at home alone. I listened to several episodes of Lucky Jim on radio 4 extra, because it's the book I'm reading for my class, Martin Jarvis is a superb reader, bringing the characters to life with his nuanced delivery.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.