Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A day on the railways

I travelled from Hexham to Taunton by rail today. I can't really recommend the cross country service which stops everywhere between Dundee Newcastle and Taunton Plymouth. The train was heaving and there was no quiet coach  or anywhere much to put luggage.

Just before Leeds the guard checked my tickets. Horror or horrors - my senior railcard was out of date. I have no recollection of any reminder being issued otherwise I would have a new card. Arghh!  £189 to buy a new ticket. The alternative she said was to get off at Leeds, buy a new railcard and a cheap ticket from Leeds to Taunton.  Our train was already 30 minutes late.

I did as instructed to be told that had been the wrong course of action. I would still need to pay full whack for a new ticket, unless I was prepared to risk going on the next train and seeing if the guard was feeling kind. The next train was also late and heaving. I was lucky to find an unreserved seat, but I was also in luck with the guard. He listened to my sob story and decided not to charge me for being on the wrong train. Faith in human nature restored, I was able to continue the long, long journey south.

It was a delight to arrive at The White Horse Hotel in Exford and a very comfortable room. I've also eaten a delicious meal with a large glass of red wine. A good night's sleep beckons.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.