Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

M4 Rush Hour Traffic

I had another call out today to pick up from Newport at 3pm and drive to Bristol. The journey took me 38 minutes. The return journey was something else! On the way over the Severn Bridge about 3.20pm I could see a good mile tailback waiting for the tolls to pay to come into Wales.

I left Bristol about 3.50pm and decided to go back over the Old Severn Crossing thinking the tolls would be quieter. They were a bit but there was still a queue. Enduring the bumper to bumper tailback and delays I arrived home it was a 1hr 40 min journey.

The delays gave me an idea and I drove to Pound Lane, Caselton where the bridge, which is a quiet country lane, crosses over the M4 where eastbound traffic from the A48 meets. I only had my pocket camera and took a handheld 10 second exposure using the bridge railing to keep the camera still. The vehicles were hardly moving but even so it has given a nice effect to the picture. The traffic travelling westbound towards Cardiff was free flowing and you can see the white lights of oncoming vehicles.

I was home for ten minutes before having another call at 6pm. At this rate I need another holiday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.