Mail to Messy

By Horomaka

Evening at the Rangitata Gorge

It's been a long day, but the early start was not in vain!

What a great win by the All Blacks, Rugby World Cup winners on the bounce. Well worth the 5am start. Daring2Go kept me company as the men in black sealed their famous victory. Thanks J.

After the rugby had finished I got busy in the garden, mowing the grass and helping Mrs H plant some strawberries in our planter boxes.

I thought I'd head up to the Gorge this afternoon to grab today's blip. I've not been to this point before, and it's a stunning view up towards the entrance of the Rangitata Gorge, home to whitewater rapids that are tamed daily by the crew at Rangitata Rafts.

The structure that looks like a tank on the promontory is actually an old longdrop toilet.I took some shots from outside it and now that the toilet seat the drop tube is still there, leading down to the river below.

Not exactly clean and green, but what a place it must have been to spend a penny! I'm not sure who were the intended users though!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.