Fungi

We went back to Maidenhead Thicket today (see Thursday's blip). Although the day started grey and wet, the afternoon was much sunnier than for our previous walk.

Dolly and I both found mushrooms! We also saw some picnic tables in the middle of the woods. It was such a warm day that it was a pity I'd not packed a picnic! Thankfully there is a garden centre with a very nice cafe so we ended up there.

Dolly was well behaved and sat on this chair while I went inside to order. When I came out she had a group of admirers surrounding her! We BOTH enjoyed the orange Polenta cake while we sat out on the patio. The outside heaters were not working which was no problem since it was so warm. I enjoyed a chapter of my book while I drank my tea and afterwards bought several autumn plants for my garden.

A very pleasant outing! I can't believe I've lived so close to these woods/garden centre/cafe for so many years and never knew they were here! We have a lot of catching up to do!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.