Sense of humour

If anyone ever doubted that dogs have a sense of humour, they only need to meet Cousteau for a short while. That little so-and-so was laughing at my lame attempts to make him pose for a quick photoshoot. He sussed out pretty quickly what treats were on offer and decided not to bother posing for them. Better treats were secured and he half-heartedly sat for me, knowing that he'd get them anyway ... eventually. With age, Cousteau has developed more patience. He doesn't seem to need his treats straight away. Good for him; frustrating for the photographer.

I was looking back through my blips of Cousteau, preparing for a Christmas idea I had, when I asked myself why I took so many lovely shots of him when he was younger and have sort of trailed off as he's got older. It's not because he's any less handsome (grey hair does not an ugly dog make!), but now I know it's because he suffers fools less willingly. A silly person wandering around with a camera, asking him to prick his ears up or look this or that way, constitutes such a fool.

So yes, my dog has a sense of humour. He was laughing at me as I contorted myself to get a decent angle. In the end, I got this shot merely because he wanted to sit still. He wanted to look out over the park to watch the lady and her dog walking past. He chose to let me take a few photographs while he was doing it.

Lesson in life learnt. Sometimes it's just best to sit and watch and not try to make things happen. 

Dogs are so wise!

Off to the gym now and then to catch up with Mum and Dad in law.

Catch you later.

~Barking~

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.