Red Squirrel Sanctuary

Whinfell Forest is one of the few places in the country that is a designated sanctuary for Red Squirrels. The ones here have very blond fluffy tails. I don't remember the colony above Keswick having such blond tails when we saw them a few years ago. Unfortunately the high ISO setting that I had to use to capture them in low light as left the images with some `noise'.

This was taken outside the Ranger station, just after 7am and just as it was beginning to rain. Although I spotted a couple of disappearing tails as I arrived they were soon back on site as I sat and waited.

Other birds: Male Mallards, Wood Pigeons (which were picking up the crumbs left by the squirrels). Bullfinch, Chaffinch, Greater Spotted Woodpecker, Red-legged Partridge and possibly Crested Tits (though could have been Coal-tits as I forgot the binocs).

My daughter and family have gone off to Keswick which is special to them as they spent a bit f time there when they first met. (The kids however would have been much happier to go in the pool!) My sister has taken herself off to do a lower level walk in the Lakes despite the rain and we are just about to set off to the sports centre where we should find coffee and an internet connection. We think Dad might manage to walk as far as there and we have a break in the weather.

The rest of the day is still to come!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.