Recognition as reward

I believe that nothing motivates academics more than recognition of their work. This is certainly the case for me, anyway!

I glowed with pride today during the opening address at the conference that I am attending in the US this week when my colleague Brian and I were thanked for all the hard work that went into our roles as papers co-chairs. This slide was displayed in a vast hall to all the delegates in the opening plenary session.

If you follow my journal regularly you may remember that I saw nothing of Barcelona in June other than my hotel and another conference venue. The prep for this week's event is the reason why. This sacrifice may just have been worth it to have my photo in the spotlight this afternoon.

Exercise today: airport walking - 5,030 steps at Toronto, Chicago O'Hare, and St Louis airports.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.