Cup Day at Addington

Back Blip from Cup Day

I was at the Hairdressers at 7am to get my hair done for Cup Day. I had to have the windscreen wipers on all the way there as it was drizzling with rain and so so cold. After that we went out for breakfast as that has been our tradition for this event.

We had to get to the raceway early to get a good seat as I am not up to standing all day. The weather started clearing as you can see in my shots in this collage and became warm. The Top Left shot was taken not long after arriving and you can see how grey it was. I took the shots with my travel camera and all behind glass so they are not as clear as I would have liked. As the day went on there was a glare of the glass which didn't help.

In the shots Bottom Left and Top middle you can see the winner of The Body Art. The shot 2rd from the Bottom Right is the winner of the Best Dressed Lady. You can see some of the finalists for the Best dresses lady on the Left one up from bottom above the Body Art lady. They even had a man in the Body Art this year.

Australian Kerryn Manning has become the first women to drive the winner of the New Zealand Trotting Cup in 111 years after guiding Arden Rooney to victory. 

Here are more photos and all about the event. We even had a streaker which I missed as I was taking a photo of the horses.


I always have a bet on each race and only put on $2. Mostly I do straight trifectas for a $1. With those you have to get 1st 2rd and 3rd in the right order. Most people think I am nuts as it is hard to pick that. When I win it is a biggish win. I didn't win as much as last years $389 but I did win $159 with the straight trifecta. I came home with more than I went with.



I got John to take lots of photos of me but none really turned out as they were all blurry. I was going to get them take outside but it was to damp, cold and windy. I will put one up soon when I make space.


Here is a link to what Cup day is about.. a number of you were asking me so this my explain it for you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.