First One Out

My first lily starting to came out to day.. sorry I don't know its name. My cousin was given some years ago and they don't seem to get any bugs or anything and grow so strongly.

It was to have been a really warm day today but that didn't happen.. my washing just about got dry. I spent time in the garden today planting my tomato plants and pots of colour for the summer. I ran out of potting mix so couldn't finish them all.

Tomorrow we are going to Cup Day so my blip for tomorrow will be late.

Dating as far back as 1580 B.C., when images of lilies were discovered in a villa in Crete, these majestic flowers have long held a role in ancient mythology. Derived from the Greek word “leiron,” (generally assumed to refer to the white Madonna lily), the lily was so revered by the Greeks that they believed it sprouted from the milk of Hera, the queen of the gods. Lilies are known to be the May birth flower, and the 30th wedding anniversary flower. Symbolic meaning for a orange lily is Passion.


The oil extracted from lilies has healing and softening properties. Especially, when the lily fragrance oil is mixed with that of calendula, it works wonderfully for very sensitive skin. Lily oils can be used for massage, in a bath, after a bath, for babies, dry cuticles and elbows, as a facial moisturizer, under-eye oil and hot-oil treatment.
For more information on the lily.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.