Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Mom Came To Visit

I wasn't feeling very well today.  I think it was more a case of a percocet "hangover," which I get after having taken a dose or two.  I just wanted to sleep.  I was still in bed when mom called twice to check on me. 

I told her I was just tired but she kept expressing her concern.  It was later in the afternoon when she asked if there was anything she could do for me.  I told her there really wasn't but she was insistent upon doing something.

My mom has the strongest maternal instincts of anyone I have ever met.  She told me she would come over just to be with me, that maybe we could watch a show together.  She arrived with two containers of homemade chicken soup.  Seems that from the first moment she heard I wasn't feeling up to snuff this morning, she began for what is to her the arduous task of making me soup - because that is what she can do to help her child feel better.  Even if her child is over sixty years old.

You know what?  It did make me feel better.  That made for one happy mother.  And one very grateful daughter.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.