Long barge

As I crossed the Millennium Bridge this morning, stopping to talk to the painters they were manoeuvring this huge barge on the Thames.  While they painting the bridge they are also extending the pontoon next to it. This barge had previously contained the piles that they were planning to sink into the river.

The additional photo is Tower 42 will its illuminated poppy on the top.  At work today we honoured the tow minute silence at 11.  The office being suddenly quiet is very moving.

Additional notes from the day:
Saw Maisey the guide dog on the train.  Hand cream licked from left hand
There was someone walking their dog on the beach - yes the Thames has some sand by the side
As a Mum walked up the steep slope to the Millennium Bridge she left her small son behind on his scooter. He was crying.  I stopped to make sure that he was OK and smiled when an elderly gentleman pushed him up the slope.
There was a very fit mum running alongside her small daughter who was cycling to school
It was so warm this morning.  I left the house wearing a smart jacket, waterproof jacket and a scarf.  As I walked to work I performed a striptease as I got hotter.  By the time that I arrived at the office, all had been removed and I was just left wearing my dress.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.