Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A hidden surprise

I was determined to go for a walk today since I'm beginning to feel like a couch potato! The sun shone, the wind blew and the rain fell intermittently. (There were even rainbows, ponies, horses, sheep and cattle plus a grey squirrel.)

Leaving the car at Simonburn, I was distracted from my planned route by the glimpse of beech leaves in a nearby wood. See extras for those brave leaves hanging on. Once I started my ascent, bit of an exaggeration, to Hadrian's Wall, the wind nearly knocked me over and it began to rain. I was very tempted to turn around but gave myself a stiff talking to and continued.


It was very wild, so I opted for a short cut back from Uppertown Farm via Teckets. There has been a lot of rain and the waterfalls in the stream are in full flow. I had no tripod so relied on a clump of moss to steady the camera.

It just shows that I don't have to go too far from home to find some splendid scenery.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.