Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Lola!

Two pals came to accompany Archie and I across to Bruntsfield for a scone and coffee. We managed across the Links without getting wet, well - they did because they kept going, but Archie and I got a wee bit wet because we had to stay and play for a while with a wee schnauzer puppy - Lola! They had great fun - Archie wasn't too rough.

In the afternoon I went to a Pipedown meeting. This group campaigns against the 'pollution' of background music. It's in hospitals, airports, shopping malls, doctors' waiting rooms, banks, as well as shops, restaurants and pubs. An interesting (but long) meeting, with flip charts, SWOT analysis and even the words which struck fear (and loathing) into my heart in my teaching days - 'FORWARD PLANS'... Eeeeeeek!

In between these two events, I had a fiddle with a couple of new Adobe apps for the iPad Pro. They seem to be free, but it may be only a trial period. One reason (I thought) that an iPad can never replace a computer is because of Photoshop and its wonderful capabilities. However, today I discovered that many of those editing tasks ARE possible on an iPad!

I had one photo of Archie looking at the camera, but Lola was looking backwards. Another photo of Lola and Archie, both looking the same way, but too far apart - Lola was too small. I managed to cut out the good (but small) Lola, moved her closer to Arch, made her bigger (ie real size), and merged her into the now Lola-less photo of Archie looking at the camera. What fun. It'll be even easier with the new pencil tool...

I think my iPad Pro will be staying!

PS I've put in an extra shot of a woman enjoying the sunshine between showers in town this afternoon. I removed the advertising for a certain mobile network provider too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.