Snowy Snowdonia

My brother lives in the middle of nowhere in Snowdonia. Ten miles from the nearest town; six miles down at the end of the valley.
This was the view out of the windscreen at 1130pm tonight just before we got to Uncle D's village. The journey up was long and slow.
It got off to a bit of a fraught start - we left later than I'd wanted to, we had to go via Bicester to make sure the heating was on because of course Mr K couldn't have done that on any of his recent drives through Bicester. Twice daily. Just saying.
Then we had to stop at Cherwell Valley Services on the M40 because Miss L needed the loo.
Half an hour from our house.
Almost an hour and a half after we left!
Then we had to stop at Welcome Break on the M42 - because Miss E's obsessed with it and I'd promised her we'd stop for dinner. Miss L was asleep so I stayed in the car with her.
We set off again and I was relieved to finally be on our way. For about ten miles.
Then Mr K managed to get onto the Southbound M5 towards Bristol rather than north towards Wales. Idiot!!
I was very restrained and managed not to threaten divorce!!
Eventually, battling the blizzards, we finally got to the cottage. It felt like one of the longest journeys up here I can remember. 
We carried the Little Misses up to their bunkbeds, unpacked the coolbox into the fridge and headed to bed.
I had to keep my socks on as it was a bit parky!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.