Just a Touch of Magenta

We has other warm day today but not as hot as yesterdays 29c. I think it reached 27c this morning then cooled down a little in the afternoon. I had to get the last of my gifts to sent to Canada this morning and I also got my husbands Christmas present.

This afternoon I had my Spin Class and it was a good work out in the heat. Now I am feeling rather worn out. I did mange to trim back my daisy that had finished its first flowering.

 I did a detour in my way home from Spin class to see if the flags were flying and they were not moving much at all. So a Petunia from my garden has to be my blip for today. Last week there were not signs of flowers on the Petunias and now they are all out.This hot weather hurried them up. I do love this colour and it also has a wonderful scent in the evenings.

About the Petunias
While many flowers have certain meanings associated with them, some flowers can represent several emotions, which can lead to some contradictions. The petunia is one such contradictory flower, and it can have several different meanings depending on the spirit with which it is given.

Petunias originate from South America and are related to tobacco, tomatoes and chili peppers.The flowers were first discovered in the mid-1700s. Those petunias had much smaller flowers and were found only in white and purple colours, but they were eventually cultivated to produce larger flowers in the wide variety of colours available today.

Dixon, Illinois, is known as the Petunia Capital of the world. Every year thousands of people visit the town to celebrate the flower at the Petunia Festival. The festival includes a parade with Pinky Petunia as the parade mascot.
For more information on the Petunia.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.