Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Butterfly identification day

Yes, not birdwatching day but butterfly identification. It was an excellent course run by the North Pennines AONB down in Slaggyford. Shame about the weather. This morning was cool and showery so the temperature was never suitable for butterflies to fly. We got rather wet looking.

This afternoon we saw 3 when the sun finally came out: 2 green veined white and a small tortoishell. There was a chimney sweeper moth too. We see a lot of those in this area because we have so many good hay meadows and they like pignut. I had no idea they were rare elsewhere.

Here are 2 of our group ostensibly looking for butterflies high in the trees, but I think they were sneaking in a bit of bird watching.

I learned a lot, the company was good, the food was good. Maybe I'll see a few more butterflies next time I go out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.