Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Thanksgiving Day

I spent Thanksgiving with my favorite person, mom there on the left, and her neighbor Jackie.  Mom did virtually all of the cooking then all of the food was carted off to Jackie's house where the three of us and another lady ate.  There was no lingering around after dinner.  it was clean up then out the door with all of mom's dishes and a few leftovers for her.  I was pretty disappointed that I didn't get any leftovers.  everyone knows that those are one of the best part of Thanksgiving!

Since for some reason the tradition of eating dinner on holidays in this country is in the early afternoon, it really messes me up.  I wasn't quite ready on time.  In fact, mom was a little fuzzy on exactly what time I was supposed to be there.  When I wasn't there at 1:00, she called me in a panic and asked if I could maybe be there by 1:30.  The original plan was for me to go to her house and hang around a bit with her before leaving for Jackie's house.  So there didn't seem to be any rush.

I arrived at mom's house at 1:45 but she was gone.  I didn't find a note but I could assume where she was.  When I got there Jackie said, "Come on in, we're almost done but the food should still be warm."  Hmmm...I guess dinner had been served at 1:30!  I still had a nice meal with lovely people.  The gravy was still hot and that warmed up the food on the plate. 

After mom and I returned to her house, we spent some quality time together.  I also had nice conversations with my sister-in-law, Colleen, in Buffalo and my brother, John, in New Mexico.  Talking to John was funny because he was in a super market picking up groceries for himself and I was trying to get him to buy things other than just Cherrios, chocolate covered donuts and frozen pizza. 

I like quiet days like these.  No going out to be among big loud groups of people whom I barely know.  It's this time in my life I like spending most of my special hours making memories with my best friend, my mom.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.