Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Confirmed

I knew something was not right.  I fell on 15 November, 12 days ago.  At the time, I was diagnosed with a small hairline fracture of the clavicle.  The thing is, the nurses (and Nurse Practitioner) were totally focused on treating my clavicle and not focusing on the area(s) where I was complaining of the sharpest pain.

After resting for a couple of days (while taking Tramadol), I started to feel a bit better. But after exhausting the 12 tablet supply I was given, things turned dramatically worse.  So this afternoon I returned to the hospital. The doctor was the same one who missed the fracture in my hand twice in 2015,  eventually leading to surgery.  I told him about it.

He was disturbed by that news and said he would take another look at the hand x-rays (because, he said, he tries to be the best doctor possible).  In the meantime, he ordered a CT scan of my upper torso.

I have THREE FRACTURED RIBS on my right side which were missed the day of my fall.  Sacrebleu!!

So I'm on pain medication and have to use an inventive spirometer every ten minutes (when I'm inactive) to avoid pneumonia. I have no limits on my activity other than to stop doing what I'm doing if it hurts.

He went on to apologize for my hand.  After reexamining the x-rays from August 2015, and now knowing exactly where to look (as if he never saw the huge lump on the back of my paw), he saw the fracture.  I had reported the mistake to the hospital administration. After a supposed investigation,  no mistakes where found in my treatment.  Huh?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.