FRIDAY

Travel, Christmas Lights, Food.

Said Goodbye to Tino and Lily and caught the bus to Newcastle.  Then to railway station.  Train to London left on time at 11am.  Trouble free journey and I arrived at Kings Cross around 1.50pm.  Then a long tube journey to Hounslow and a 2 min walk to the Travelodge.  Quickly unpacked and popped out to Tesco for some fruit.

Around 4.45pm I made my way to the bus stop to get a bus to Richmond to meet Becky from work.  Bus arrived on time but as we got nearer to Richmond the traffic was gridlocked.  Turned out that roads were closed for the official switch on of the Christmas lights.  Traffic was bad and the normal bus route was closed.  I was in contact with Becky by text and she just told me to get off the bus when I could and then describe to her where I was.  This worked Ok and we soon met up.

Luckily we were in time for the official switch on of the Christmas Tree Lights at 6pm.  The company Becky works for was sponsoring the tree so her CEO was there on the stage - as well as someone from CBBC.  Then we went to the Christmas Market by the river where we met up with Mike. 

Mooched around the stalls - Becky and Mike had mulled wine. Then we had a drink in a pub - before going to The Pigs Ears for a meal. I didn't stick to my slimming plan and just had what I fancied - Chicken Burger, Chips and Coleslaw.  The chips were wonderful.  I haven't had chips since last December.

We all caught the bus home - Becky and Mike got off before me and I carried on to Hounslow.

So Day One of my little break went well.

Steps today - 17,446

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.