carliewired

By carliewired

Getting into the Spirit of Christmas

What would Christmas be
without big red bows to grace
our wrought iron gates?

~ carliewired

I've added five large red velvet bows to the gates today. That may be all we see for holiday decorations this season. I had great plans to add lights to the acacia tree at the front of the house. Now I can't seem to muster the enthusiasm. Perhaps those lights will just have to decorate the windows inside instead. I got that much done last year. That project  consumes a great deal of sticky tape but it does look rather snazzy from the outside. My tree is a four inch plastic model that lights up when one flicks the switch. I really thought I'd never have anything to do with Christmas once my husband passed away. However, I'm finding I need its lights, if nothing else. 

This is not a neighbourhood that really puts out for the Christmas season. Neighbours don't exchange cards. No one else on the street has any visible signs of Christmas. Truly, it is difficult to look out at palm trees and imagine that the Christmas season is approaching. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.