A Mirage In The Basin

I had some very stressful admin to deal with today involving my siblings. It took me to Maldon. Afterwards I rewarded myself with a walk at Heybridge Basin. I got a nice pic of George the dog on his floating home and met Malt, a lovely black Labrador, on the sea-wall. I have a muddy footprint on each shoulder where he jumped up to give me a doggy kiss.

I was delighted to see what I think was a tawny owl quartering the area and watched large flocks of waders, including avocets, wheeling back and forth.

It was getting dark as I left when I spotted the white-hulled yacht in the basin. I think it is a Mirage. MrQ and I first took our children on a flotilla sailing holiday in 1978. We went with a company called YCA, sailing a little Snapdragon in the Saronic. We were hooked and from then on sailing was our holiday of choice. We sailed a Mirage in Greece in the early days of flotilla sailing.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.