In Which the Arboretum Gets Festive!

We've had some amazing misty mornings lately, and I am one who must be out in it, seeing how different our world is made by it, absorbing the peace and quiet of the mist. As I made my way to town, I was hoping for hoar frost, but found none. It wasn't cold enough for it, I guess. But there was plenty of mist!

The Arboretum is a favorite stop, no matter the weather, and things are starting to look awfully festive there. They have decorated the trees with lights and other goodies; some of them are bedecked with snacks for the birds.

The main photo features the entrance to Childhood's Gate, the children's garden, framed by the famous Hosler Oak, also known as the Witness Tree. It was the first tree planted in the Arboretum: initially brought in by flat-bed truck, it is now called to bear witness to all of the beauties that have grown - and will continue to grow - up around it.

In summertime, the little area in front of the entrance to Childhood's Gate is a water feature with water lilies. About a month or more ago, they shut off the water and removed the lilies to warmer climes. There are evergreens in those areas now, as though they sprung up suddenly, by sheer magic.

I am very excited to be able to finally introduce you to my favorite critter in the children's garden: the rattlesnake who guards the entrance. Much to my delight, last week I discovered that someone who is perhaps as full of whimsy as I am (!!!!) has decorated all of the Arboretum's critters (including the snake) with ribbons and jingle bells. So festive! When I first saw the bells and bows, I laughed out loud!

The extra photo features the festive rattler, who jingles at one end and rattles at the other. (Somehow, I've begun to think of him as Jingles, though I'm sure that's not a name he'd answer to. Rattlers can be like that.) He's wearing a jingle bell and covered in frost, and rattlers aren't accustomed to either of those things, so perhaps that's why he's (she's?) looking just a tad grumpy!

Given that this blip is for December 8, and that's the day we lost him, the song to accompany this posting is John Lennon, with Happy Xmas/War Is Over. The world still misses and needs you, John!

Bonus link: a very similar view in springtime, with daffodils.  :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.