Gitama's World

By Gitama

A Brief Respite......A Devestation &

No Silver Lining

A Brief Respite .....In the garage all day sorting chucking things out moving boxes hither and yon. Flynn found his bubbles.......perfect.........a brief respite to make a cup of tea and take some pics. 


A Devestation .....In another life I would make photo collages.....(if you are familiar with David Hockney you will know what Im talking about......hours and days spent with often 80+ photos to make one collage).  I had 20 of them (7 were absolutely crackers) In a large portfolio....also there were  9 of my large pastel paintings....(4 I really loved). When we dug down to them I had a funny feeling that things were not right......it was water damaged and when I opened up the portfolio......everything was ruined. Next  devastation was another portfolio of all my editions of etchings...reduction look block prints....lino prints and lithos......the same.
As I picked up the sopping paper and looked at parts of the images peeping through the mess  I cried.

No Silver Lining....I have sold...given......and thrown away a lot of my work over the years and the ones that I kept were the ones that I loved the most.......the ones I had done when I was so happy and full of love.....as I write this the remnants sit in the garbage bin.....for the life of me I cannot find the silver lining in this. I think I will need to dig deeper

The garage is still a mess....(a long way to go yet) Jaiya and I had a bit of a dingle in the heat and mess....all in all its been a rather crap day......time for another cup of tea I would say.

“Moonlight floods the whole sky from horizon to horizon;
How much it can fill your room depends on its windows.” 
― 
Rumi (not the dog)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.