Not a grey warbler

All day I hear the song which I assume is made by the grey warblers. I also see them flit into the tops of the pohutukawa, and then vanish from sight amongst the leaves. At least I assume that I hear and see them, as I do not see them clearly enough to be sure.First thing this morning I thought I had seen one in the leaves of a cabbage tree.

However, the photo was poor quality and I thought it may not have been. It wasn't, in retrospect.

The sparrows and greenfinch were at the feeding table early and intermittently throughout the day. Also one other bird which I think was probably a juvenile male chaffinch. 

Midafternoon, I sat outside; rather perched on the outside table and stayed still in the hope of not scaring away the birds. I was successful in that the sparrows and greenfinch came back and back. One piwakawaka (fantail) flitted about down the bank; too fast for me. 

And the catch of the day was a tauhou (Silvereye) sussing out the state of the berries. They are yet to be fully ripe (they are purple when ripe). The wee tauhou stayed in view long enough for me to get the focus right, and the framing adequate, and so this is today's choice.

Back to Auckland this evening. A busy three days before heading north again on Friday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.