Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

A Memory...

As hubs and I were heading out of NYC this morning, we passed this iconic west-side "meat market", Espositos.  Every time I see this place, it takes me back to a cold winter 20 years ago when I was living on Manhattan's east-side.  I had invited some close friends over for a holiday meal and decided that I wanted to buy a roast from Esposito's - so off I went, in the bitter cold, walking about 1 miles across town.  Then, very heavy roast in hand, back I hustled, very pleased with myself.  By the time I reached my apartment, I was so cold that I could barely feel my feet.  And, if I remember correctly, dinner was excellent!

I did a little spot color treatment on this in PS Elements just because I like the way it looks this way.  It was extremely foggy this morning, so everything had a kind of mono-tone to it, so going mono in the processing wasn't much of a stretch.   I know this is way outside my "norm" but as many of you know, I love trying my hand at urban photography from time to time.  And if you'd like to see a selection of other urban shots ( including an urban bird), click HERE for 7 additional shots.  I personally love the first one, even though it was taken through a less-than-clean windshield.

We had a bit of a big scare on the way home when a jerk in front of us was cutting in and out of traffic (at speeds well over 60 MPH) and hit another car.  Suddenly, there were cars flying all over the four lanes in front of us and I believe the only reason we weren't hit is due to Hubs skills at racing.  Before I could even react, he was cutting his way through the melee, getting us through and around the whole thing.  Because of the speed of that section of highway and the fact that there weren't shoulders, we couldn't pull off, but I immediately dialed 911 to report it. And very grateful for the driving skills of my husband - his many years racing cars definitely paid off today.  

Had a great time with Peggy last night - drinking wine, noshing on lasagne in a little neighborhood joint in the east 50's, and solving the problems of the world.  Isn't it interesting that the more wine you consume, the more answers you seem to have?  Or is it just me...  ?

Be safe out there, people.  And expect another out-of-character blip tomorrow...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.